amanda's blog
 
Have you ever had a dream that you felt you would never be able to make true? Have you ever a goal that you told someone and they just looked at you like you were crazy? In this book Derek Jeter writes about how he had a dream from a young child and how hard he had to work to make his dream come true. Jeter had many obstacles that almost made him give up on his dreams, but he didn’t let any of them stop him, and in 1996, he made it to the World Series playing shortstop for the N.Y. Yankees. He states many different situations from throughout his life, and compares them to other peoples’ dreams. Jeter lists some support people and other things and people who helped him reach his goal.

Derek Jeter’s first piece of advice was to think of a goal, but not just any goal. It has to be a goal that you really want to accomplish. Jeter says that if you aim your goals low, then you’ll never know how good it feels to overcome many obstacles to reach something you really wanted.

 
Jeter states that his best source for support was his parents. He never told anyone else of his dreams to be the shortstop for the N.Y. Yankees, until his 8th grade year. His reasoning was because he didn’t want people to think he was setting himself up for failure. Jeter always turned to his parents because he knew they would always be benign with anything he said he wanted to accomplish. His freshman year, he saw a kids picture in a magazine. The kid was a senior in high school, and was named Minor League Player of the Year. That was when Jeter set his goal to have at least one publication name him ad Minor League Player of the Year, his senior year. Well, when his senior year arrived, he was named Minor League Player of the Year, by not just one but four publications.

Jeter talks about one of his teammates who always settled for the lowest possible batting average, but wanted to make it to the majors. Jeter didn’t understand how someone could settle for less but aim high. He said that if you aimed high, you needed to push yourself to do your best possible.

This book is very inspirational to me because Jeter is my favorite baseball player and has always made me believe that if I worked hard, I could achieve my dream. I play softball right now, and have always dreamed to go to college on a softball scholarship and maybe even play in the minors. It helps to know that the athlete that I look up to the most started out pretty much like me. I would recommend this book for anyone who wants to succeed, because he doesn’t just talk about making it in sports, but also making it in the real world.

 

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Well, my name is Amanda, I am in high school. I love to play sports, and do basically anything outside. I've done alot in the technical field at my old school.

    Archives

    September 2010
    August 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed